Skip to Content

What are the 8 colors of the original gay flag?

The gay flag, also known as the LGBTQ+ rainbow flag, is widely recognized as a symbol of pride and inclusiveness for the diverse LGBTQ+ community. The flag has evolved over several decades, with new colors and variations added to reflect the ever-changing identities and issues of the community. However, the original gay flag consisted of eight colors, each with its own unique symbolism. In this blog post, we will explore the history and significance of the original eight colors of the gay flag.

Background of the Gay Flag

In the 1970s, the gay rights movement was gaining momentum, and there was a need for a visible symbol of pride and unity among LGBTQ+ individuals. The first rainbow flag was designed by Gilbert Baker, an artist and activist from San Francisco, in 1978. Baker’s flag was a response to the need for a more inclusive symbol that would represent the diverse nature of the gay community.

The original gay flag had eight colors and made its debut at the Gay Freedom Day Parade in San Francisco in 1978. Each of the eight colors had its own unique symbolism and meaning, as explained below.

The Eight Colors of the Gay Flag and Their Meanings

1. Hot Pink

The hot pink stripe on the gay flag represented sex. However, this color was later removed from the flag due to the unavailability of pink fabric and the high cost of production.

2. Red

The red stripe on the gay flag represented life. This color was chosen to symbolize the blood that LGBTQ+ activists shed in their fight for equal rights.

3. Orange

The orange stripe on the gay flag represented healing. This color was intended to represent the need for healing and wellness for those LGBTQ+ individuals who had experienced discrimination and marginalization.

4. Yellow

The yellow stripe on the gay flag represented sunlight. This color represents joy, happiness, and optimism and was meant to symbolize the hope for a better future for the LGBTQ+ community.

5. Green

The green stripe on the gay flag represented nature. This color was chosen to represent the natural world and the importance of preserving the environment and promoting sustainability.

6. Turquoise

The turquoise stripe on the gay flag represented magic and art. This color represents creativity, imagination, and the importance of expressing oneself through artistic means.

7. Indigo

The indigo stripe on the gay flag represented serenity. This color represents calmness, peace, and tranquility and was meant to represent the need for emotional stability and balance.

8. Violet

The violet stripe on the gay flag represented spirit. This color represents the spiritual or supernatural aspects of life and the importance of inner strength and self-awareness.


The original eight colors of the gay flag have a rich history and meaning behind them. They were chosen carefully to represent different aspects of LGBTQ+ life and experiences, including sexuality, identity, resilience, and hope. Today, more than 40 years after the first rainbow flag was raised, the LGBTQ+ community still proudly displays the rainbow flag as a symbol of their identity and the achievements they have made in the fight for equal rights.


What was the original pride flag?

The original pride flag was created by gay activist Gilbert Baker in 1978 in San Francisco. The flag featured eight vibrant colors, each having a different meaning to represent the LGBTQ+ community’s diverse facets. This flag was designed to symbolize pride and unity. Baker’s design was inspired by Judy Garland’s song “Over the Rainbow,” which was considered an anthem of the gay community during the time.

The colors and their meanings on the original pride flag are as follows: hot pink for sex, red for life, orange for healing, yellow signifying sunlight, green for nature, turquoise to represent art, indigo for harmony, and finally violet at the bottom for spirit. This flag was used in the Gay Freedom Day Parade in San Francisco on June 25, 1978, where it was carried by 30 volunteers for its first public appearance.

However, hot pink fabric was not readily available, which led to the exclusion of the hot pink stripe from future iterations of the flag. After the 1978 parade, the original flag was altered to include just seven colors, with hot pink removed and replaced with a royal blue stripe to represent the gay male community. This is the flag that is most commonly recognized today as the “rainbow flag.”

The original pride flag, designed by Gilbert Baker in 1978, featured eight colors, each with a unique meaning, and was intended to symbolize pride and unity for the LGBTQ+ community. While the flag was altered in the years that followed, it remains a symbol of love, equality, and acceptance, and its legacy serves as a reminder of the struggle for LGBTQ+ rights and the progress that has been made over the years.

What is the LGBT symbol flag?

The LGBT symbol flag is an iconic representation of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, asexual, and Two-Spirit (LGBTQIA2-S) communities. It is often referred to as the Pride flag or rainbow flag, as it features a rainbow of vibrant colors arranged in horizontal stripes. The design of the flag has undergone several iterations over time, reflecting the changing needs and perspectives of the LGBTQIA2-S community.

The original eight-color version of the flag was designed by Gilbert Baker in 1978, in response to a need for a symbol that would represent LGBTQIA2-S pride and visibility. The colors in the flag were carefully chosen to represent various aspects of LGBTQIA2-S identity and experience. For example, pink represented sexuality, red stood for life, orange for healing, yellow for sunlight, green for nature, turquoise for magic and art, blue for serenity, and purple signified spirit.

The Pride flag has become an enduring symbol of LGBTQIA2-S pride and visibility, and its influence has spread far beyond the United States and the North American continent. Over time, the flag has been updated and expanded to reflect the growing diversity of the LGBTQIA2-S community. For example, the use of the color brown and black stripes has been added to represent marginalized communities of color within the LGBTQIA2-S movement.

The meaning behind the Pride flag and its various design iterations continue to evolve, as the LGBTQIA2-S community grows and changes. However, the flag has remained a powerful symbol of hope, acceptance, and love for the community, and its influence has spread far beyond the confines of the LGBTQIA2-S community. The flag is now recognized and celebrated by people worldwide as an icon of progress, inclusivity, and love.